poplareel.blogg.se

Factorio Prints
factorio prints























Base-in-a-Book 15.FACTORIO MASTER CLASS This series of Tutorials and How To Guides help you become a better Factorio Engineer Each video serves as a beginners guide but also. Steel City Block 323 Ore -> 90 Steel/sec. Advanced Smelting Stone Brick (8 Beacons) Steel Smelting 88 Ore -> 25 Steel / sec. Advanced Smelting (12 Beacons) 45/sec output. Advanced Smelting (8 Beacon) 45 / sec output. Mid-Game Universal Steel Furnace Smelter (Same-side Input and Output) Advanced Smelting - FACTORIO MASTER CLASS.

Beginning about two years ago, I started to have these problems, it was harder and harder to force myself to work on the game and I didn't enjoy it that much. Use your imagination to design your factory, combine simple elements into ingenious structures, apply management skills to keep it working, and protect it. You will be mining resources, researching technologies, building infrastructure, automating production, and fighting enemies.

factorio prints

It was a great fun to finish all the dungeon content and acquire the pre-bis (pre raid best in slot). One of the big reasons was, that I already had 60 level priest when I realized that tanks are so hard to come by, so I re-rolled a tank learned how to play it and levelled it to 60. The planned 3 weeks of playing kind of extended to be more like 3 months.

The attempts to get to work were mainly motivated by guilt, and I knew well, that it is hardly a good motivation for anything. It is far from surprising after that many years of working that hard. It was clear to me at this point, this is the the typical burnout situation. When I tried to work, I had this strong, almost physical feeling of disgust, that was impossible to overcome.

factorio prints

When you don't have to overcome daily obstacles and annoyances, you become more and more lazy, until even the most basic things start to be huge pain in the ass, and you don't generally feel well, this is where I was.In the meantime, I was occasionally playing some simple games with my 4.5 year old son ( Earn to die and Into space 2). One of the biggest reasons that I didn't feel well was, that I was becoming more and more lazy. In the latter case, we could come back to it any time when we feel like the time is right, instead of having to watch it being milked as micro transaction filled cashgrab by some company.So, this was my lowest point personally I was generally not feeling well, and was lost in searching for purpose. We wanted the game to be primarily fun for us, not for a focus group that has the most financial potential.So, even if we faced the hypothetical decision : Either we sell it to a big publisher, or we shutdown the studio, I choose the latter, because you can't put a price tag on the fact, that we still own the game. We wanted to make the game(s) that we couldn't find, and we wanted to have fun doing so.

He was focused and he kept at it, and 3 days later he came to me, and showed it to me, and he was so proud. Eventually he set himself a project to create a wall around the entire factory. Some other day, I joined the game, and built some small factory so basic technologies are unlocked and he could play around with that. He was just running around and having a blast that he can mine trees and explore. So I figured, that he could actually try to play Factorio.I started a peaceful game for him, showed him how to move around, mine and craft basic stuff, and let him play.

"But, why is it in the list then, it doesn't make sense". "No, we don't even have it researched". When I showed him how construction robots and personal requests work, he was super enthusiastic and talked about construction robots to everyone he met :).Once he asked me "Daddy, what is this thing in the list of things I can order?". He can't read, he didn't know numbers greater than 4, and yet he managed to play, and in a few days, he kind of recognized numbers up to 10 without even realizing. This is when I realised how great Factorio is for children, you can scale the skillset from very very basic up to almost infinity. It was very weird, but it worked.

This is when I decided to face the big elephant in the room: The Blueprint Library. I made a change to Factorio, and it felt good, and I started to want more, this is how I got from the lowest point.I wasn't yet prepared for big projects mentally, so I did few other small tweaks, and I started to visit the office occasionally, which gave me more and more energy, I was not working because of guilt, I was working because of joy again. So I opened Factorio source code after a long time, and made the change, that the filter and logistic request selections didn't contain things yet to be researched (unless you force-unlock it in the settings).

Factorio Prints Upgrade When You

First mentionThe first mention of a blueprint (apart the blueprinting mod) was in FFF-16, 6 and half years ago! First blueprint implementation (0.9)Blueprints were obviously a great upgrade when you compare it to the state of just not having them. Small tweaks and improvements can be always done, but the general feeling is like "Yea, this works, finally". But I believe, that we are getting to the final stage with the current rework. As the new BP library started to shape up, I started to feel something almost forgotten, I was proud of what I was doing, yay :)The story of blueprint and the blueprint library development is quite long and convoluted, we mentioned it in 12 FFF already and it wasn't always quite right. I had to overcome a lot of annoying obstacles on the way, which had positive effect on my overall laziness very fast. I started working on it and I was able to work in full-power mode again, the work went forward fast.

factorio prints

Quickbar, movements, stack transfers, everything works exactly like with items, and the BP library technical magic is done under the hood.After some time (32 weeks actually), we presented a UI mockup for the planned blueprint library FFF-282.This was the big plan, but since 0.17 release was approaching and there were just too many other things to do, we postponed it. But a week later, we agreed on a relatively simple solution ( FFF-250 and FFF-255): From the player perspective, blueprints are always just items,and blueprint library is just something like a persistent chest. It was common at these times, that your inventory was slowly getting cluttered with random blueprints and you had to do a cleanup from time to time.The Blueprint editing window was also improved:It was "only" about connecting the belt/pipe/wall entities, but it added a lot to the understandability ( FFF-211).We knew there were still a lot of problems with the blueprint library and we were desperately trying to figure out how to solve them in various different crazy ways ( FFF-249).

factorio prints